I am more than the story you know

Posted on

What do you see when you look at me?
Do you a see a person who is different?
Am I your equal?

I am more than the story you know.

I am a person who has history.
A person that has an honorable ancestry.
Your stereotypes are part of a story that is incomplete.

I am more than the story you know.

I wear my ethnicity proudly.
Not because I am better than you, but because I am different.
My ancestors were kind, but died extending their hands.

I am more than the story you know

I am of a strong working class, intelligent and articulate.
I can express my thoughts and ponder the secrets of our universe.
I can read Shakespeare and write my own poetry.

I am more than the story you know.

I can love with a passion that is deep and pure
I can grieve for those I have lost
My story is more complex than the one you possess.

I am more than the story you know

I am human just as you
When spilled my blood runs red just like yours
So when our path cross do not judge me for

I am more than the story you know

-by Jose Raul Rivera

Leave a Reply

